aspirational consumerism

August 4, 2009

The Ballerina and Hope, the early days

The Ballerina and Hope, the early days

There is a popular magazine that The Ballerina loves to read. In it, there are home improvement tips, decor trends, make-overs, international holiday destinations,  and all manner of aspirational additions to a modern home. They seem to have looked up all the words that evoke chic, luxury and exorbitant consumption in the name of glamour and ‘style’. I’m sure there are many who live in this rarefied atmosphere of privilege but really. Should a fridge really cost 25k? Do you need those Swarovski crystals on the fridge ? I know, I’ve got it all wrong, need is not what we are talking about here.

My favourite section is the home of the month or the home renovation ideas. If you have ever had some minimum of renovation you will understand what it means when there are architects involved. You will appreciate the hidden meaning in “knock down some walls”. You will marvel at uncluttered homes with happy, smiling children that look like there must be a maid cleaning up after everything they do, make that two. It is like watching a magician. The trick is in not revealing the underlying process even as you make all efforts to appear to be doing so. The Ballerina as you know is much moved by all that glam. Her eyes light up, I think it’s called reverie. Ultimately when reality magnifies our standing, that look is replaced by a sort of wistfulness.

I think the idea is supposed to inspire me. Turn me into a “serious corporate go-getter with a clear idea of what luxury means”. That by the way is a quote from a profile of an individual who affirms that the thing she loves about SA is “… the fact that we’ve managed to become a part of the branded, consumer-driven global village in less than a decade without losing our soul.” Hello?? You just showed me that maybe we have.

Anyway, enough soap-box gnashing of teeth. Even in this economic recession there are many who are not affected. It’s a fact. I should not begrudge them their hard earned spoils. I will turn to a positive PR spin by our Minister of Human Settlements, Tokyo Sexwale. Last night, the former business mogul, one of the richest men in the country, spent the night in Diepsloot, home of the recent violent service delivery protests. I will banish my cynicism at this gesture. Maybe we haven’t lost our soul, maybe…

Leave a comment